The Reunion Music Society, Inc. is a nonprofit organization organized under IRS code 501(c)(3).


The Reunion Music Society, Inc. (RMS) was co-founded in 1992 by Dr. Claiborne T. Richardson (1927-2020), an educator and musician. He was a native Virginian, long-time resident of Fairfax County, founder of the NOVA Annandale Symphony Orchestra, and the orchestra’s first conductor.

Dr. Richardson passed away on June 12, 2020. Our Music Director, Chris Johnston, pays tribute in this Conductor’s Corner posting.


President: Ralph Brooker
Treasurer: Jeannie Perron
Recording Secretary: Brendan Slocumb
Corresponding Secretary: Miriam Doehnert

Members of the Board of Directors

Ralph Brooker
Lawrence (Lou) Brundidge
Miriam Doehnert
Jeannie Perron
Claiborne T. Richardson, II
Kevin J. Sheehan
Brendan Slocumb

Music Associates

Christopher Johnston – RMS Music Director
Herb Smith
John Wright

Associate Members of the Board

Rugh Bedell
Betty Marie Fields
Norma Hughes
Joseph Pincus
Ann Reynolds
Bruce Salad
Pat Sawhney


  • to recognize the need to nurture and support young and/or unknown composers and performers, and help them to successfully introduce their works to the community
  • to discover and present the compositions of little known composers and offer programs of seldom heard and/or performed music
  • to foster and promote music of different cultures and heritages, and program performances for diverse audiences
  • to provide financial assistance to local artists and composers, enabling them to reach audiences with their performances throughout the communities of the Greater Metropolitan Washington, D.C. area.


The Reunion Music Society is supported in part by grants from ArtsFairfax.