A Collaborative Partnership between Northern Virginia Community College and the Reunion Music Society

Big News!

  • We have expanded our collaboration with NVCC to encompass the whole college rather than the Annandale campus, and in recognition, have renamed from the NOVA-Annandale Symphony Orchestra to the NOVA Symphony Orchestra.
  • Our next full-orchestra classical concert will be at Ernst Center on the NOVA Annandale Campus on Sunday, April 24, 2022, at 4:00 P.M.

    PROGRAM: (Pending)

    1. Rossini. William Tell Overture.

    2. Tchaikovsky. Symphony No. 2 in c minor (“The Little Russian”).


    3. Coleridge-Taylor. “Dance” from Othello Suite, Op. 79.

    4. Price. “The Old Boatman.”

    5. Sibelius. Finlandia.

    6. Gershwin. Selections from Porgy and Bess.

Upcoming Concerts

NOVA Symphony Orchestra Spring Concert

April 24 @ 4:00 pm - 6:00 pm

TICKETS available at the door.

General Admission – $20.00

Non-NOVA Students – $15.00

NOVA Students and Children 12 and under – Free

Our History in Brief

In the Spring of 1994, the Reunion Music Society, Inc. (RMS) and NVCC President Richard J. Ernst formed a partnership that created The NOVA-Annandale Symphony Orchestra  as the Orchestra-in-Residence at the Ernst Cultural Center on the Annandale Campus.

In 2021, the orchestra was renamed the NOVA Symphony Orchestra in recognition of its expanded role serving the entire Northern Virginia Community College. It now uses the new Fine Arts building on the Alexandria Campus as its base for rehearsals and collaborates closely with the Music Department there.

The Orchestra Today

The NOVA Symphony Orchestra is a high-level orchestra comprised of volunteer players from the DC metropolitan area. We are a mix of student, adult, and professional musicians. The orchestra uniquely serves our community in several ways:

  • It affords community musicians the opportunity to play in a full symphony orchestra, playing at an advanced level.
  • It brings high-quality programs to our audiences.
  • It provides an ensemble class experience for enrolled Northern Virginia Community College students. The College offers an associate degree in Fine Arts. All members of the orchestra can add value to their experience by enrolling in MUS 148/248 for college credit each semester.
  • It creates a venue to discover and present the works of little known composers and offer programs of seldom heard and/or performed music.
  • It fosters and promotes music of different cultures and heritages, and programs performances for diverse audiences.
  • Orchestra players participate in several other RMS-supported ensembles, including Brass, Chamber Music, and Jazz. The synergy of this mix of activities brings variety to our audiences and provides excellent opportunities for out players to develop their musicianship.

The orchestra has performed works such as:

  • Beethoven Symphonies 1, 5, 6, 8
  • Brahms – Academic Overture
  • Elgar – Enigma Variations
  • Holst – The Planets
  • Mendelssohn – “Scottish” and “Reformation” Symphonies, Hebrides and Saint Paul Overtures
  • Mozart – Symphonies and overtures
  • Rimsky-Korsakov – Scheherazade
  • Rodrigo – Concerto de Aranjuez (for guitar)
  • Rossini – The Barber of Seville
  • Sibelius – Finlandia
  • Smyth – Overture from “The Wreckers”
  • Still – Symphony No. 1 “Afro-American”
  • Tchaikovsky – Marche Slave
  • Vivaldi – The Four Seasons, Concerto for Four Violins
  • Johnston – From Far And Away (commissioned by the Reunion Music Society)
  • and many works by Josef Haydn, Leo Delibes, Gilbert and Sullivan, Jules Massenet, Henry Mancini, George Gershwin, Scott Joplin, Richard Rogers, John Williams, Ennio Morricone, Samuel Coleridge-Taylor, Aaron Copland, Duke Ellington, James Horner, Eugène Bozza, Leonard Bernstein and many others.

Orchestra Administration

Music Director: Christopher Johnston

President: Bruce Salad

Librarian: Sharon Jones

Administrative Section leaders:

  • Violin I: Brendan Slocumb
  • Violin II: Sachi Rosenbaum
  • Viola: Margie Bassman
  • Cello: Logan Madrid
  • Bass: Andrew Johnston
  • Woodwinds: Mitch Bassman
  • Brass: Lou Brundidge; Albert Triolo, Acting for Spring 2022
  • Percussion: Claiborne T. Richardson, II

Questions? Email reunionmusicsociety@gmail.com .

Interested in joining? Click here!